HELP! PL400 crackling/static

Gepetto

Administrator
Staff member
Tagline
Old 'Arn Enthusiast
Agree Don if you are going to do a professional Failure Analysis on each component. Doubtful here...at work, yes, all the time.

laatsch55

Administrator,
Staff member
Tagline
Halfbiass...Electron Herder and Backass Woof
Amen Joe. I think Lance is just trying to fix the board as a warmup to tackling the White Oak board, and hey if he can get it to work, more power to im...that's why we're here. And he needed the big caps regardless of which way he goes..

laatsch55

Administrator,
Staff member
Tagline
Halfbiass...Electron Herder and Backass Woof
Lance, I'm surprised the vinyl nuts here haven't quizzed you about you being a record presser??

Lewcifer

New Around These Parts
yep.......I'm really interested in your story.. What an awesome profession. Tell us more, please!!!
I’ve been doing this for just over 3-1/2 years now. We are the only pressing plant in the Pacific northwest, which is great since Seattle and Portland have thriving music scenes and artists can pick up in person rather than pay huge shipping costs. We have 5 12” presses (early ‘70s vintage) and are in the final stages of restoring a dual cavity 7” press. It’s hard work, but very satisfying. And it’s fun to hear new stuff before the bands even get their hands on them ;-)
Before this, I did offset printing for 29 years including show flyers and packaging/inserts for local bands and labels.
As a lifelong music fan that doesn’t play any instruments, I’ve been lucky to always find a way to stay involved without being a performer myself.

Lewcifer

New Around These Parts
UPDATE: Success!!! It’s now working fine and disturbing the neighborhood.
Seems it was most likely Q1, Q2, but I can’t be sure because I replaced several transistors and all electrolytics on the board. New power supply caps too.