Phase Linear 2000 recap questions

MarkWComer

Veteran and General Yakker
Tagline
Victim of the record bug since age five
I've been given a PL2000 for a rebuild, some electrolytics aren't available any more (and you're seen that I asked this elsewhere). I can't find the thread to see what others have done. Gone through both Mouser and DigiKey for parts that don't exist. I came across this "kit" on ebay, just wanted to ask the sages and mystics here on the board what their thoughts were on this:

I hesitate to buy this, but the guy has high feedback ratings, seems to be okay. Another reason I hesitate is that I bought a "kit" for my turntable caps for which only four caps were usable and conversation with the seller revealed that he doesn't speak English. Complete bust!

Another issue is that I'm not an audio engineer, not an electronics engineer, and I get bewildered by all the specs on caps- I just don't have the mental horsepower to select the correct components to do this job.

George S.

Mark W. , Here are photos showing silver mica caps, Panasonic ECW Polypropylene caps, 1% metal film resistors, Nichicon Muse filter caps, BrownDogs, SwitchCraft jacks, Dale ladder volume control, and a toroid transformer under a toroid shield.
I gained experience with everyone's help here to build this. Now I have some additional ideas and test equipment to improve things. Perhaps this winter I can get back to.
I think it sounds fantastic.
The one thing that gets overlooked in these is taking the pots and switches apart and cleaning them. The CTS made pots have a silver plated wiper ring that is tarnished and have hard deposits. Spray cleaners aren't good enough.

Attachments

mlucitt

I hesitate to buy this, but the guy has high feedback ratings, seems to be okay.
Mark, this "Kit" has about $25.00 worth of capacitors in it (if purchased in high quantities).
Also, he is offering ceramic capacitors which are inexpensive and not optimal for audio.
I would pass.