It's tough to keep my mouth shut about the WOPL 1000...

premiumplus

Chief Journeyman
Tagline
Stuck in the 70's
Hey guys,
I've been enjoying my pair of WOPL 1000s for about three months now.
The hardest part of it is keeping my mouth shut about how great these old amplifiers can be when White Oaked.
Why keep quiet??? Because I don't want to drive up prices on this old Phase Linear gear.
It's already to the point where beaters are going for what these old girls originally sold for, and I want everyone here to have the chance to own one or two.
I'm keeping my eyes open every day on CL and other places to see if there are any available. So I keep my mouth shut when I'm on AK or other forums. Let them all say "Flame Linear" etc...we know better.
How much would it cost to replace a WOPL 1000 with a new amplifier of similar quality and agility? I shudder to think. And I KNOW that after White Oaking by a competent bench technician that these amps are going to last a long, long time.

I do have to brag a bit now...I helped out a local guy from AK this week with one of his amplifiers, an integrated Yamaha that was giving him intermittent channel dropout. Turned out to be the muting switch was dirty, so it was a very easy fix. After I cleaned and tested it in my lab, we went upstairs to my music room and I unleashed some Dire Straits SACD and some Steely Dan on my main system. He flat out said that mine is the best stereo he's ever heard, and he likes to attend hi fi meets, so I felt quite complimented.
The thing is that with a good source, clean preamp and good speakers, these WOPL 1000s simply kick ass. Words don't do them justice. I have only one regret...and that's that at age 61, after a lifetime of abuse, my ears aren't what they were when I was a kid. So I know it sounds even better than I can realize with my ears!