DC offset from pre-amp affects power amp how?

62vauxhall

Veteran and General Yakker
Tagline
No such things as bad days, just bad moments
My plan to replace a female friend's Yamaha receiver with a Hafler pre and Adcom power amp went sideways. Her new boyfriend that she just moved into her place thinks anything other than streamed music is archaic and anything needed for analog playback is a waste of space. I can see this new relationship of hers lasting weeks maybe months at best. I really feel like kicking his f***king teeth in when he gave a condescending smile and shake of the head after I expressed being partial to vintage audio.

But I digress. With said amp and pre-amp, I noticed the power amp was warmer on one side after playing a CD. I thought that odd because I re-set the bias to factory and it's DC offset was reasonable. That prompted me to check offset at the pre-amp's outputs which is something I've never done before. One side was near zero but the other had 6 volts. I read elsewhere of the exact same problem with the same pre-amp and what the fix is. The parts are on order. But is my assumption correct that this circumstance would cause an abnormally warm temperature to the corresponding channel of the power amp?

Was also wondering if a sustained input of 6 volts for 30 or so minutes could have harmed the power amp?

laatsch55

Administrator,
Staff member
Tagline
Halfbiass...Electron Herder and Backass Woof
6 volts DC is a BUNCH!! Joe can give you the technical version, but I know it's VERY bad.....

Gepetto

Administrator
Staff member
Tagline
Old 'Arn Enthusiast