Any love for CD-R?

Dazen1

Veteran and General Yakker
Despite being a strong supporter of compact discs, I have never been a huge lover of recordable CD.

Anybody here had any positive experiences burning their own audio discs?

Northwinds

Tagline
Fondler errrr... fan of all Nav's avatars
I have had plenty of good experiences burning my own. I use Protools along with a USB turntable for recording records to disc. For copying cassettes to disc, I just hook up my deck direct to the home PC via the Sound Blaster Platinum Live card that has RCA inputs (and a 1/4" guitar jack!!!). Just have to make sure recording levels are consistent for whatever your recording and any software you are using is synced

Elite-ist

Administrator, (and straight-up pimp stick!)
Staff member
I have received CD-R recordings from friends, I have done a few CD-R recordings on the home computer, but none yet from FLAC files. I have a Pioneer CD recorder, but haven't got around to recording with it. Perhaps, I will use one of my current MD Masters to try it out. Is there a particular blank I should be buying for sound quality? What particularly don't you like about CD-R, Daren?

Here's the Pioneer in demo mode:

Click on image to play video:

Nando.

Northwinds

Tagline
Fondler errrr... fan of all Nav's avatars
FLAC files need to be converted to .wav files before you can burn them to CD. This is why I dislike them, it's way easier and less time consuming to burn from the original source material

Dazen1

FLAC files need to be converted to .wav files before you can burn them to CD. This is why I dislike them, it's way easier and less time consuming to burn from the original source material
I have only ever been interested in creating compilations by ripping existing CDs as WAV files and then burning to CD-R. I have tried various machines and software yet I have always been disappointed - they sound a little too "thin".