New guy from Alaska

AKdeVo

New Around These Parts
I have been wanting to get a nice system for my woodshop and decided the little DeWalt job site radio needed an upgrade.
Growing up my dad had a nice old Bose system from the 60s and we sure enjoyed those for the longest time with all the old records from his younger days.

I have been a car/truck audio guy and have built some pretty nice clean systems over the years but never got into a real home audio system.

A couple of weeks ago I was picking up a nice pair of JBL L100ts (after doing lots of research) and the guy was really knowledgeable. I showed him a Phase Linear 700 for sale that I found and he was blown away. He said it was a unicorn and probably the only one I would see in Alaska. So I rushed out and grabbed it for $300. After doing more research I have ended up here. Blows me away how much information is available on this PL 700 and the L100t online. I am really new to this and have a lot to learn.

From what I've read these JBLs are pretty hungry, 200-400 WPC. They say they really come alive when you put the juice to them. Trying to find an amp that big has not been the easiest thing to do without spending a butt load.

Diving in deep for the full WOPL build from Eric. As much as this was far outside my "shop stereo" budget, I have fallen for these older vintage components that seem to hold their value and have quite the following.

Here are a few photos. I did have the top cover on the wrong way for a few photos. It does still have the oak sides and seems to be in pretty good condition. It does hum a bit when in use. I really didnt want to run it much and have a chance of hurting my speakers until it got checked out by someone smarter than I.

I thought it was a 700b series two but apparently its miss labeled on the back.

Any info or advice is much appreciated.

Cheers,
Kris

Attachments

mlucitt

Veteran and General Yakker