New guy here!

AZG

Journeyman
Tagline
---
Hi everyone,
Just wanted to take a moment to introduce myself. My name is Aaron and I'm in the DC area. I'm relatively new to the world of audio/hifi, but I recently picked up some PL stuff off craigslist. I had been searching for an older Marantz receiver and happened upon someone selling a very clean Phase Linear setup. I knew the name, but had no previous experience with PL or any of Bob's products and I have been delightfully surprised. This seems like the best resource online, so I am eager to jump in and learn from you guys. Here's my setup...

PL 2000 preamp ser 2
PL 300 power amp ser 2
PL 1000 autocorrelator ser 2
PL 5100 tuner ser 2

Speakers: B&W DM640
Turntable: Pro-ject Debut Carbon Esprit w/ortofon 2M red

I currently only use the PL rig for the turntable and I am extremely impressed with the quality of the sound through the B&Ws. Of course, I am already wanting to upgrade and tinker with everything, so I've ordered the replacement for the RC4136 using the Brown Dog adapter and dual OPA2134s that I've read so much about on here.

Anyway, cheers!

laatsch55

Administrator,
Staff member
Tagline
Halfbiass...Electron Herder and Backass Woof
There are a few threads about that kinda work so dig in and post up some questions when they arise.

laatsch55

Administrator,
Staff member
Tagline
The 300 is a good little amp. The outputs are the same used in the mighty Pioneer SX 1980, so they can be hard to find, so be careful with those.

Fishoz

Veteran and General Yakker
Tagline
Always learning!
Welcome to our little niche Aaron. You did find the right place to learn about PL. Never seen a PL question go unanswered here. You're gonna enjoy this!

laatsch55

Administrator,
Staff member
Tagline
Aaron, I looked at the pic of the 2000 you sent. With no traces going to those bridged pins, I don't think that's a big deal. I don't have the data sheet in front of me, but it looks benign....

AZG

Journeyman
Tagline
---