In Appreciation For The Lowly 482Z

Bob Boyer

Veteran and General Yakker
Tagline
---
I don't roll tape too often these days. Now that I'm down to the cream of my record crop sound-wise, I find myself pulling albums out of the sleeves more often than before as I approach 70. I mean, what the hell, what's the point in not playing them at this juncture? Or I'm too tired/lazy/whatever and just plug in the hard drive and turn on the JRiver jukebox, which has all my mixes contained in its library along with a ton of albums. But once in a while, I pop a cassette into my Nakamichi 482Z, sit back, and am amazed all over. Today was the first time since I started playing with my speaker combo of LSA 1 bottoms and Louis' homebrew single driver boxes. And I woke up. Again.

Just finished listening to a tape I recorded a couple of years ago on this 482Z Nakamichi from a digital mix that goes all over the road musically and had to sit down on the couch and just listen. I finally really heard what I think the British refer to PRAT - pace, rhythm, and timing. From Bob Seger's Roll Me Away to Richard Thompson's Cookesferry Queen, the music just swung. I don't know how else to describe it. Once I pointed the single drivers straight ahead instead of toed-in a couple of weeks ago, the harshness I was hearing on-axis disappeared and they really do a nice job on snares and toms, which a lot of the music in this mix has in spades. That may have been it, it may not, but the music swung.