Any Experiences with Gennlab Test Tapes? Need Guidance from Seasoned Techs

ThomOfYorke

New Around These Parts
Hi all,

I'm looking to buy the test tapes I need for my decks, and Gennlab has been a name I've seen mentioned a lot in these discussions. From what I've gathered, there's only three worthy sources for new test tapes these days: A.N.T., Gennlab, and Hanspeter Roth (HPR). I already have HPR's tapes, but I wanted to get some more accurate ones. From ANT's website, it looks like tape production is on hiatus for a while, so that leaves Gennlab. But as a beginner, I find his website a bit difficult to parse. I've gleaned that I need his Nak equivalent tapes, but when I asked on another forum, I got advice about which tapes to get that seems to conflict with what Gennlab said about his tapes, leaving me unclear as to what to get. While I trust the advice I got from the other tech (in fact, they're the person whose advice I followed in accumulating all separate, analog bench components), it was stated in a way that I didn't fully understand and when I asked for clarification, the receiving party apparently took offense, took me to be suggesting that they don't know what they're talking about, and told me I was on my own from now on.