WOPL 400 Build

swarmin

New Around These Parts
Hello everyone,

With the current pandemic, I have found myself with plenty of free time on my hands. I am (was?) a line cook, but I've been into repairing speakers, recapping, restoring, built phone pre-amp kits, etc for about 10 years now. I had a side hustle selling silver plated oxygen free copper interconnects and speaker cables for a while on audiokarma.

I'm by no means a professional, but I feel I'm pretty handy when it comes to this sort of stuff. I am having some trouble with putting this kit together and I think it stems from there being too much information available.

I am doing the back plane board kit, the control board and wattsabundant relay. I have a few questions:

1: how do I avoid using the Zoebel network on the Watts relay?

2: The Q6 Bias transistor is soldered to the board, correct? I found some documentation saying it should be attached directly to the chassis, but then found a bunch of pictures with it on the board.

3: what process should I follow with bring up? Pl14_20 first? Back plane? Kinda confused where I should start.

Thank you for your help

MarkWComer

Veteran and General Yakker
Tagline
Victim of the record bug since age five
1: Remove the Zoebel. I don’t have the schematic handy, but identify two resistors with leads twisted together and a capacitor located nearby. There is one arrangement each for left and right channel. Clip the leads, or as I did, desolder and remove. (Member Wattsabundant can give you more details...)

2: Q6 is affixed to a stud via a “P” shaped aluminum thermal clamp, and of course, the leads have to connect to the backplanes with sufficient length for the body of the transistor to be within the square outline on the board. When you install the backplane, put a small drop of superglue to the round top, slide on the “P” clamp, and tighten with a #4 lockwasher and nut.