PL 200 Series Two Repair - What about those cute little caps?

Mr. Pink

New Around These Parts
Hi everyone,
I'm a total novice to amp repair and electronics in general. I'm working on a 200 series two amp that blows the negative (-) supply fuse on start up.
I have a soldering iron, a DMM, lots of hand tools, a service manual, and a brain. I'm pretty much learning as I go.
My copious research so far has led me here. This seems like the place.
Anyway... I've pulled one of the modules for easier access and tested everything I can test. Found some bad diodes, resistors, and transistors. At least two of the output transistors on the one board I've pulled are shot. I understand those have to be replaced in pairs.
I'm making up a parts list of things to order in the hopes of replacing the bad, keeping the good, and trying to get this puppy up and running. I'm learning all about the DBT so as not to fry my new parts!
My questions are about the capacitors on the two main boards. Do I ignore them until I try to power up? Power up, test and replace as needed? Replace them without testing since I'm already working on the finer points of soldering (and they're old)? If replacement is the obvious answer should I match the original electrolytics or change to film?
Thanks in advance for any corrections/guidance.

mlucitt

Veteran and General Yakker
All the electrolytic capacitors on those boards, as well as the main capacitors in the power supply are at least 40 years old. The life expectancy of those vintage capacitors is 15-20 years before they dry out or start leaking. Replace them all with modern electrolytic capacitors (we like to use Mouser Electronics, they seem to have a good variety of parts for the Phase Linear amplifiers), no need to replace them with film, they are not part of the signal path.