Need help to repair two phase 400 amps

LarryD

Journeyman
Tagline
---
Hello everyone this is my first post here. I am in need of some guidance to figure out what may be wrong with my amps. The amps were put away in 1994 along with my QLS1's. I am getting back into the stereo stuff and decided to try and repair these amps myself because I have little money. So here it goes. Amp #1 I fired it up after sitting for 20 plus years and it was working. I let it sit plugged in for over two hours with nothing playing. When I started playing music on it the left channel was not responding until I increased the volume. The sound was not very clean but yet it played. I powered it down and hooked up amp#2 Turned it on and it fried the left speaker, And I mean Fried. These were only cheap test speakers. I did have some trouble with the #2 amp years ago it blew the fuse twice. So anyway I have very little knowledge with electrical and hope someone can guide me thru things. Amp#1 I have removed the face plate and unscrewed the board. I looked at the backside of the board for any burn spots and did not see any I then checked out the component side and all looked ok. I checked the caps visually and saw no swelling from heat. I would guess that the next step would be to go over the board with the ohm meter and start checking. Here is where I need help. What should I check for first. Any takers? Please!

NavLinear

Veteran and General Yakker
Welcome Larry!! I'm glad you made it here. We will help get your PL amp problems figured out - I'm glad you made it to Phoenix and here's a warm Navbabe to welcome you aboard! If you get a bit behind I hope it looks like this!

Attachments

laatsch55

Administrator,
Staff member
Tagline
Halfbiass...Electron Herder and Backass Woof
First......get a service manual. You have to be able to identify certain components.
Second.....acquire a good (or shitty) digital camera. Learn how to post pics. We're gonna need em...

LarryD

Journeyman
Tagline
---