My new PL 700 Ii

cloud9alpine

New Around These Parts
Hi, I acquired this Phase Linear 700 II from a friend, it's my first one. I plugged it in and got nothing, then I noticed it would click on intermittently when I touched the lowest fuse holder on the back, the meters read at far left. Then I turned it off, but the meters stayed on... Then I checked the fuse and the end was toasty and it was cracked but the element looked intact. So I turned it off, put the fuse back in and now it's suck in there.

I know very little about these things. Ill probably send it off to be repaired or upgraded eventually. I'd like to use it someday.

Anyway, I heard this is the spot to go for insight about these amps so I figured I'd introduce myself. I'm Tobin, im not good with electronics repair, I like rock, punk, funk, soul, and blues.

Attachments

MarkWComer

Veteran and General Yakker
Tagline
Victim of the record bug since age five
Yeah, that fuse looks pretty toasted, I’d replace it.

There are two HUGE capacitors inside and it takes a while for them to discharge completely, so the meters staying lit are indication of a bit of a charge left in them. I also have a 700 that I’m rebuilding, and during my initial checkout, the thing still played for a little bit after I turned it off! Turning off the power just prevents “new” current from entering the circuitry and replenishing those capacitors.

Not meaning to be an attention whore (but I will anyway...) look for me on YouTube- Mark5W8Comer- and look over my Phase Linear upgrade videos. They’re geared for people who haven’t done much electronic repair. Maybe you’ll decide NOT to send it out and undertake a satisfying adventure!

And welcome to the forums!

oldphaser

Chief Journeyman