Hi from Philly!!

jimcomly

New Around These Parts
Hello everyone. I've been an audio enthusiast since I was about 13, just before CD's became mainstream. My dad's good friend was an electrical engineer that worked as a roadie while in college, and he had a pair of Dahlquist DQ-10's driven by a PL 700B and a Hafler preamp. He played Steve Winwood "Higher Love" on his Thorens TD125 with a Shure V15 cartridge. Even at 13, I knew I was listening to something extraordinary. Admittedly, I didn't have a lot to compare it to, but the music was crystal clear and seemed to be coming out of nowhere!! Up until I graduated college, I tried (and failed) to put together something that sounded even close.

Fast forward 30 years, I found a set of mirror-imaged DQ-10's with original blonde grills and a PL 400 series I. My preamp was Harmon Kardon receiver with preamp outs that I picked up at a garage sale. IeEither played CD's on a Pioneer laser disk unit or just plugged in the iPod. Good sound for occasional listening in the background.

A few years ago, I bought a PL 700 Series II off of Craigslist to replace the 400. The 700 had "Clair Brothers" on the front panel. Who were they? Found out Clair Brothers was a company located in the same town I worked - Lititz, PA in Lancaster County. My dad's buddy said something like, "Oh, Clair Brothers... They do little concerts like Live Aid!!". What a history this amp must have had!

Current system is the DQ-10's, 700 Series II (just tuned up with the help of this forum), Pioneer C90 preamp, and a recently acquired Audio Technica LP120 turntable. I was delighted to find out that I actually took pretty good care of my vinyl as a teenager! I have a Pioneer Elite Blue Ray player for CD's, but I'm concentrating on vinyl for the moment.

For the time being, I'm going to stay with the current setup and develop some critical listening skills. Then, I'll change one component at a time to see how the sound changes. I was never this patient as a kid!