Anyone have a PDF or link to a PL 3300 Series II service manual?

62vauxhall

Veteran and General Yakker
Tagline
No such things as bad days, just bad moments
Trying to get the headphone amp section going in a PL 3300 II preamp - I suspect it may not be getting power. A schematic and/or pictorial of the board's top and bottom would be helpful.

62vauxhall

Tagline
Found: stub of orange wire snipped from headphone jack terminal #4

Thanks Lee, thanks Nav for providing that material,

Had a read through the troubleshooting section with regards to "no headphone output" and the suggestion is to check Pin 6 of Z104. It also says to use an AC voltmeter and an oscilloscope. I have a DMM but no scope. Nothing was mentioned about a signal source but unless a recorded 30 Hz test tone on a CD will do, I can probably borrow a frequency generator again and perhaps even a scope although I've never used one before. If there is undistorted output at Z104 pin 6, I am to check and/or replace Q101/201 & Q201/Q202.

One thing I saw on close examination of the headphone jack itself was the stub of an orange insulated wire soldered to lug #4. My schematic reading skills are not great and I have not been able to locate where this wire may go. Any educated guesses as to what it attaches to? Long shot hope is that this missing wire is is why the headphone jack is dead.

Phase Linear 3300 II headphone jack 1.jpg Phase Linear 3300 II headphone jack.jpg

FWIW, I checked the switched amplifier output jacks and inserting a headphone plug interrupts the output signal as it is supposed to, just no signal going to the headphones.

Last edited:

laatsch55

Administrator,
Staff member
Tagline
Halfbiass...Electron Herder and Backass Woof
Gary, can you take a pic of the inside showing the phone plug and wires and where they go.....seems to me there was something strange about that one...

62vauxhall

Tagline
Had to do an edit - forgot to include them on the first go.