Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Carver power switch doesn't hold in on position

  1. #1
    New Around These Parts
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    23
    ---

    Carver power switch doesn't hold in on position

    10-8-18
    Anyone know the correct part number for a AC power switch for the Carver 4000 pre-amp?
    I see what I believe is an appropriate switch here: https://www.ebay.com/itm/Alps-SDU3P-...r/282652002874
    Possible Part number is:

    Alps SDU3P Power Switch TV-3

  2. #2
    Frank,

    Unfortunately, it appears that Carver C-4000 service manual does not include a parts list.

    It has been a while since I owned a Carver C-4000.

    Also it appears that the switch you show on ebay is very similar to the power switch Phase Linear used in some of their products.

    Perhaps WOPL Sniffer (Perry) can be of some assistance. He has worked on a few C-4000's in the last few years.

    Could you provide us with a photo of the power switch you have in your C-4000?

    Is the one on ebay not exactly the same or just too expensive?

    Ed

  3. #3
    New Around These Parts
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    23
    ---
    Ed, I sent a 'PM' to you.
    Please advise.
    I hope we'll talk soon I hope.

  4. #4
    Forum Veteran orange's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2010
    Posts
    15,364
    Is the spring or other part broken or not connected properly?

    Can you post a picture of it?
    Last edited by orange; 10-10-2018 at 12:14 AM.
    If it's Sunday Night, it's must be football and pizza!

  5. #5
    New Around These Parts
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    23
    ---
    Quote Originally Posted by orange View Post
    Is the spring or other part broken or not connected properly?

    Can you post a picture of it?

    The power switch will rarely if ever hold itself in the 'on' position so, I by-pass it. I'm using a power-strip.

    It's difficult to show it as I haven't unmounted it because the pre-amp has every input and output being utilized: 2 tape decks, 3 turntables, 2 SUT's, a tuner and 2 CD's. I would be like a life's upheaval to disassemble.
    I'm trying to ascertain the correct part number for a replacement switch. It could be a TV3 or a TV5. There isn't any parts list so, I'm not certain until I pull the old one out or asking if anyone knows from their own experience.
    Last edited by frankmarsi; 10-13-2018 at 08:23 PM.

  6. #6
    Forum Veteran WOPL Sniffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,211
    Screw it
    Quote Originally Posted by frankmarsi View Post
    The power switch will rarely if ever hold itself in the 'on' position so, I by-pass it. I'm using a power-strip.

    It's difficult to show it as I haven't unmounted it because the pre-amp has every input and output being utilized: 2 tape decks, 3 turntables, 2 SUT's, a tuner and 2 CD's. I would be like a life's upheaval to disassemble.
    I'm trying to ascertain the correct part number for a replacement switch. It could be a TV3 or a TV5. There isn't any parts list so, I'm not certain until I pull the old one out or asking if anyone knows from their own experience.

    That TV3 will work fine. Just use both sets of inputs and put a snubber across it. I mocked up this new switch to show you. You use both sets of contacts and your switch will now outlast all of us. If you ever want to bring that 4000 to the next level, I have made leaps into getting them to work (the 4000t/C4000) like a new unit or better. I have power supply upgrades, Sonic Holography improvements (Gundry Notch filter), and adjustable Gain Board and of course, new audio grade cap upgrades. And a remote volume if you fancy that shit......

    I also have a Beautiful 4000t for sale I just upgraded if you want a REAL jump. Thanks

    Perry

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_5121rs (1457 x 1093).jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	83.9 KB 
ID:	32276  
    I had the nations problems figured out one night while on blah blah blah........ huh?

    Big amps
    Kenner Close N Play

  7. #7
    Forum Veteran WOPL Sniffer's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2015
    Location
    Arizona
    Posts
    3,211
    Screw it
    SWEET!!!

    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_5065rs (1457 x 1093).jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	89.4 KB 
ID:	32277   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_5053rs (1457 x 1093).jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	92.5 KB 
ID:	32278   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	IMG_5054rs (1457 x 1093).jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	91.8 KB 
ID:	32279  
    I had the nations problems figured out one night while on blah blah blah........ huh?

    Big amps
    Kenner Close N Play

  8. #8
    New Around These Parts
    Join Date
    Jul 2016
    Posts
    23
    ---
    Holy-Moley, that's in terrific condition. I've attempted to win one on the auction site but, I always seem to be under-bid.
    I feel I'd rather have the improved effects the 'T' offers as compared to the regular C-4000 that I own.
    Enjoy that one it looks very clean.

    FM




    Quote Originally Posted by WOPL Sniffer View Post
    SWEET!!!


Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •