Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Opinions of these 2 Omron relays

  1. #1
    Forum Veteran 62vauxhall's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Greater Vancouver Area. BC
    Posts
    1,260
    No such things as bad days, just bad moments

    Opinions of these 2 Omron relays

    In a nutshell:

    Have had an APT Holman pre-amp for two years.
    Eventually sent to AudioProz in Watertown MA to cure spurious noise issue.
    Came back in good order with different relay replacing one already newer than original.
    Original relay used profoundly prone to failure

    Got a second APT Holman pre-amp at IA's garage sale.
    Has dead channel on line out, headphones OK.
    Appears to have original relay.
    Since relay is replaced as a matter of course, plan on doing same - hopefully bringing dead channel back to life.
    Plan to order same relay used by AudioProz.
    Looked to Mouser for replacement - found two with same part number.
    Difference: One dubbed hi-sensitivity, power consumption 150mw - other one power consumption 360mw.

    http://www.mouser.com/Search/CompareProducts.aspx

    With no knowledge as to which one was used by AudioProz and I seriously doubt they would disclose that if I asked, I am inclined to order the standard 360mw version.

    Would this be logical?

    FWIW, the first pre-amp sent away for fixing came back with the parts they took out in a bag - including the relay. As as far as I know, there was nothing wrong with it and was not the relay inside the pre-amp when it left the factory. I assume that since it did not coincide with what AudioProz use as standard procedure these days, it was removed and substituted with their "go to" part.

  2. #2
    Forum Veteran NavLinear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,514
    Here's some pillows to rest your head on Ron.
    The link does not take me to a part comparison page. Can you post the part numbers? I suspect the current spec is related to the nominal operating current. That would be:

    "The value of current flow in the coil when nominal voltage is impressed on the coil."








    If you get offended by the jokes and comments on here, go ahead and blame your parents... for raising a pussy.

  3. #3
    Forum Veteran 62vauxhall's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Greater Vancouver Area. BC
    Posts
    1,260
    No such things as bad days, just bad moments
    Thanks Nav for volunteering. And also for making me look more closely at Mouser's part numbers.

    Mouser part # for the high sensitivity relay is 653-G5V-2-H1-DC12.
    Mouser part # for standard relay is...............653-G5V-2-H-DC12.

    What's on the actual relay I inspected is GV5-2-H1.

    So you caused me to answer my own question. I'm after the high sensitivity version.

    Can't believe I stared at that comparison page as long as I did and did not pick that up. Maybe the older you get - the more you look, the less you see.

    Scary thought.

  4. #4
    Forum Veteran NavLinear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,514
    Here's some pillows to rest your head on Ron.
    I hear you Gary. Most of the time now I'll read something and bookmark it or reread it a bit later - things seem to pop a bit more clearly the second go around.
    If you get offended by the jokes and comments on here, go ahead and blame your parents... for raising a pussy.

  5. #5
    Forum Veteran 62vauxhall's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2014
    Location
    Greater Vancouver Area. BC
    Posts
    1,260
    No such things as bad days, just bad moments

    ADDITIONAL re: Omron relays

    The relay installed in the functioning pre-amp, has been adapted to fit. But that I mean it is a lot smaller that what it replaced and does not have pins, it is leaded.

    Looking at it connected to the board, some fairly fine silver wire was attached to leads as extensions so they would reach and feed through the holes. This "fairly fine silver wire"....would it be something unique or special that lends itself to this purpose?

    I ask because the few times I've attempted elongating component leads to do same, I've used copper wire (thicker than the silver wire I mentioned) but it is too good a conductor of heat. I have a jolly time keeping the solder joint at one end set while trying to make a solder connection at the other.

    maybe a hemostat as a heat sink?

  6. #6
    Forum Veteran NavLinear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2012
    Location
    SoCal
    Posts
    5,514
    Here's some pillows to rest your head on Ron.
    Copper wire of the appropriate size would work fine. The wire I use is 22759/11-AWG-color and it is silver plated copper.

    http://www.awcwire.com/productspec.a...59/11-standard
    If you get offended by the jokes and comments on here, go ahead and blame your parents... for raising a pussy.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •